Yarrawonga Mulwala Open Meet 2015

On January 4th 2015, 130 swimmers started 2015 by competing at the Yarrawonga/Mulwala Swimming Club’s annual Open Swim Meet.

Yarrawonga/Mulwala was aptly represented by 18 swimmers who competed in a total of 53 events, 20 Personal Best Times were swum and qualifying times for the upcoming Victorian Country Championships were swum.

A highlight of the meet was the Skins Competition. This is where the fastest eight swimmers from the 100m Freestyle in the age groups 11-12yrs, 13-14yrs and 15yrs and over, race over 50m every two minutes until one swimmer is left. The winners of the skins were:

Women 11 -12yrs

Maggie Skewes (Bendigo East)

Men 11-12yrs

Henry Lee (Wangaratta)

Women 13-14yrs

Emma Allemand (Wodonga City Swim Club)

Men 13-14yrs

Jack Jones (Dve Aquatics)

Women 15yrs & Over

Ellie Warren (Wangaratta)

Men 15yrs & Over

Timothy Roberts (CA Tritons)


Also awarded was fastest 10yrs and under women and men and these went to Ava Tuksar (GT Aquatics) and Bailey Smith (Wodonga) respectively.

Swimmer of the meet was Catherine Shaw who swum 2 personal best times and a qualifying time in the 100m backstroke for the Victorian Country Championships.

Medal winners from the Yarrawonga/Mulwala Swimming Club were:

Annabel Hart

3rd  Women 8 &  Under 50m Backstroke

Abbey Lawless

2nd Women 15 & Over 100m Butterfly


2nd Women 15 & Over 100m Backstroke

Georgia Lawless

3rd Women 11-12 50m Butterfly

Darby Mullins

2nd Men 8 & Under 50m Freestyle


3rd Men 8 & Under 50m Backstroke

Hugh Mullins

2nd Men 9-10 50m Freestyle


3rd Men 9-10 50m Backstroke

Morgan Pitches

1st Women 15 & Over 100m Breaststroke

Nicole Shiels

2nd Women 13-14 100m Breaststroke

Philip Shiels   

3rd Men 15 & Over 100m Freestyle


2nd Men 15 & Over 100m Breaststroke


1st Men Open 200m Individual Medley